Forum Replies Created

Viewing 1 - 5 of 5 posts
  • Daisy Ouya

    Member
    July 16, 2020 at 12:37 pm

    <div>https://www.avac.org/long-acting-injectable-cabotegravir new resource with the ins and outs of CAB-LA.
    </div><div>

    Also, there’s a webinar today to discuss 083 results. Details:

    </div>

    The HIV Prevention Trials Network (HPTN) invites you to join a community webinar to learn the primary results of HPTN 083, a global randomized, controlled, double-blinded study that compared the safety and efficacy of long-acting injectable cabotegravir (CAB LA) to daily oral tenofovir/emtricitabine (TDF/FTC) (Truvada) for pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP). The study showed that a PrEP regimen containing CAB LA was superior to oral TDF/FTC for the prevention of HIV acquisition among cisgender men and transgender women who have sex with men.

    DATE: Thursday, 16 July 2020

    TIME: 7:30am PDT / 9:30am CDT / 10:30am EDT / 11:30AM BRT, ART / 4:30pm SAST, CAT / 5:30pm EAT / 9:30pm ICT

    HOST: Melissa Turner, HPTN Community Working Group Chair

    MODERATOR: Mitchell Warren, Executive Director, AVAC

    PANELISTS:

    <ul type=”disc”>

  • HPTN 083 Protocol Chair – Dr. Raphael Landovitz, UCLA Center for Clinical AIDS Research and Education (CARE)
  • HPTN 083 Protocol Co-Chair – Dr. Beatriz Grinsztejn, National Institute of Infectious Diseases Evandro Chagas-Fiocruz
  • ADDITIONAL PANELISTS AVAILABLE FOR QUESTION AND ANSWER SESSION:

    <ul type=”disc”>

  • HPTN 084 Protocol Chair – Dr. Sinead Delany-Moretlwe, Wits RHI, University of Witwatersrand
  • HPTN 084 Protocol Co-Chair – Dr. Mina Hosseinipour, UNC Project Lilongwe
  • Head of Research & Development, ViiV Healthcare – Dr. Kimberly Smith
  • Senior Director, Global HIV Prevention Strategy, ViiV Healthcare – Dr. Alex Rinehart
  • NOTE: All lines will be muted. Questions should be submitted through the Zoom chat feature.

    Please choose one of the options below to connect to the Zoom webinar.

    1. From your computer, click here:

    https://zoom.us/j/407585921?pwd=ZkdzclUzUFkxMlhEY05KVWc5NVFDZz09

  • Daisy Ouya

    Member
    July 16, 2020 at 12:24 pm

    Sylvia thank you for your post. Just shows how important early engagement is. What was the TEAM trial testing? Any link to the study? Is the study ending permanently? thanks!

  • Daisy Ouya

    Member
    July 15, 2020 at 11:34 am

    I love these! many small things add up slowly to a great outcome

  • Daisy Ouya

    Member
    June 15, 2020 at 4:44 pm

    Should cabotegravir be licensed for PrEP in gay men and trans women right away on the basis of HPTN083 results, or wait until HPTN084 gives an answer for cis women? Can we learn something from the F/TAF experience (label for MSM and transwomen and post-marketing commitment to do a trial in cis women)?

  • Daisy Ouya

    Member
    August 6, 2020 at 2:46 pm

    VISP is indeed a big issue for participants and communities… i agree it’s important to know if the experimental vaccines used will cause vaccine induced sero-reactivity, because not all of them do. John Hural of HVTN presented an interesting talk on this issue at their meeting in February. Check out their article: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4331207/

  • Viewing 1 - 5 of 5 posts